Skip to content

Global Math Department & Understanding by Design

April 23, 2013

Hey all,

So here’s some publicity about something I’m doing soon: I’m co-presenting at the Global Math Department on Understanding by Design with Tina and Elizabeth. You can see the details and register here. We’ll see how it goes – if you’ve heard of Understanding by Design (UbD) before, you should consider stopping by.

Why This is Something I Can Talk About: One thing that is difficult to cover in any preservice program (in my opinion) is ‘You’re in charge of planning a unit from scratch – how do you do it?’. Most teaches I’d seen defaulted to the textbook, which I didn’t like. Last year was my first year of teaching, so this question was very fresh on my mind. The school I started working was just in the process of restructuring – some buzz words you could apply are ‘turnaround’ and ‘reconstituted’. As part of this process, my entire school implemented the Understanding by Design (UbD) framework for developing units, which pretty much solved this problem for me. Since then, whenever I encounter new content that I need to design units for (coughCOMMON COREcough), I always start with a UbD mindset and I find it very satisfying. Everyone in my school does UbD (in theory – its hard to do in some disciplines) and we’ve been doing it for the last 2 years, which is pretty cool.

So, if you’re curious, come on down tomorrow at 9pm EST. Tina and Elizabeth are co-presenting. It’ll be fun.

In other news: I’m still writing posts on assessments, but writing about assessments is like fighting a hydra: my posts keep splitting and forking every which way until my one post has become five. Those will hit the web sometime soon (hopefully).

Leave a Comment

Collaborate

